Deck Building is Pretty Fun (an Imas CG Deck Profile)

Deck building can be a fun and sometimes stressful task for players because a proper deck build can significantly increase your number of wins. Anyways, without further ado, lets get into it:

Disclaimer: I am not here to tell you what is strong or what is going to win for you. That is for you to study and determine for yourself. I am only here to give general information to help you with YOUR deck.

For this article, I will be using Idolmaster Cinderella Girls as I just bought 7 boxes of the series and want to make a decent deck (even though I suck, rip).


some rules you need to understand when building a deck:

  1. Utility is critical
  2. A Good Deck has multiple win conditions
  3. A waifu deck is not always absolutely terrible (Nisekek sweets deck for example)
  4. not every casual deck is bad. Not Every competitive deck is good
  5. When playing your newly created deck, always play to the deck’s strengths to see if your deck is working as intended
  6. how you play your deck is just as important as to how you build it (which is why consistent netdeckers are frowned upon, its ok to netdeck a couple times to understand how a deck works but if you plan to play it seriously then you should be learning it through your own theory and knowledge of the game.

when you build a deck, ask yourself these questions:

What is My win condition?

What is my Secondary Win condition?

How do I consistently get either of my win conditions?

How do I build up to either of my win conditions (for example, stock generation or handsize)

What cards help me achieve my win condition more consistently?

Do I have an alternate plan if things go wrong?

What are the weaknesses of my deck and how can I mitigate them?

So…lets see how I can build aidorus by answering these questions.


What is my Win condition: To play idols and outdamage my opponent. I am using level 3s that increase my damage output, as well as pants climax triggers to maintain extended climax rushes and keep my overall damage done as high as possible. I am playing level 3 Ranko, meaning that milling climaxes to maximize damage potential is important. Hence, there should be a focus on precise stock and hand control to ensure that each of my refreshes have the best climax ratios possible. 


What is my secondary win condition: Hard Compression. In the event that my main win condition fails, I want to hard compress my deck as much as possible to ensure that my opponent cannot realistically end a game against me and allow me to outdamage my opponent through “turtling”. I need to keep my climaxes out of my stock and within my deck. 


How Do I Consistently Get to Either of my Win conditions? Climaxes are a critical part of my win condition. Utility cards that not only allow me to maintain board control, but also allow me to manipulate climaxes at will is something I should be seeking when I build and play. I should seek to find cards that require 1 and 2 stock costs to precisely pay out climaxes, as well as cards that can allow me to fetch climaxes.

My Climax Choices should enable me to outdamage my opponent, either through improving my own ratio, ruining my opponents, through calculated aggression or both. Maintaining stock and handsize are incredibly important, as well as making favorable trades with my opponent so playing characters that are guaranteed to grant me maximum value as soon as it sees play is important. If Stock is spent, it should only be spent to give me a piece of my win condition in a bad situation. 


Do I have an Alternate plan? Worst comes to worst, I plan to have card techs that enable me to go toe to toe with my opponent and force my opponent to make unfavorable trades until I can come back into the game


What are the weaknesses of my deck and how do I mitigate them? Well the first weakness of my deck is the climax choices. Book Triggers and Pants Triggers can really hurt compression if triggered too often and not answered immediately. Power-wise the deck is stable but will struggle against decks that emphasize massive power or level 1 changes. Precise deck manipulation can also pose a problem if a climax lead or damage lead isn’t secured early on. There are card techs in the set that enable me to mitigate many of these problems but not eliminate them altogether. However, the deck’s strengths and tech choices should be more than enough to mitigate these weaknesses to become a non-issue in the long run


So, starting out at level 0 I want to play tech choices that serve multiple purposes: not only get me through the early game but to give me a bit of utility through the mid game, all while mitigating weaknesses:

Also, keep in mind that this is based purely on my box pulls + singles that I bought, so I am not mentioning certain card choices or ratios.

Links to the card effects (In order of their appearance in this article):

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-002

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-003

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-023

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-041

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-061

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-100

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-T41

 

The first card that is looked at here has a simple effect: take a damage, pay 1 stock and search for a level 0 or 1 character. This card is one of the defining characters of the deck because, thanks to the level 1 lineup and the 0/0 producer (that I will be talking about later on) you have an advantage/toolbox engine where you can grab anything you want from your deck when you want it.

The second card is a simple mill runner. Alot of sets have this, but its still a very solid card. As a runner it is designed to do damage and generate stock (remember our win condition?) at level 0 while not dying. Furthermore, the “send top card” to waiting room requirement is essential for our brainstormer which pulls cards from the waiting room which allows the toolbox to come full circle

The third card is the producer, who is arguably the best male character in 2015. A simple pay 1 drop 1 searcher that enables you to discard bad cards in hand, while giving you cards you want and still being able to attack afterwards. Truly a a simple and beautiful card.

The 4th card is part of this deck’s amazing toolbox/advantage engine and should not be taken for granted. Being able to pull from the waiting room is very good as it is always relevant 90% of the game.

Anzu is a simple power booster. Not much, shes here to mitigate one of the deck’s weaknesses (low power output) and turn it into one of the deck’s core strengths at level 1 and up. She tends to put in a ton of work.

Glasses-sama is pretty similar to anzu, except she can actually attack. Great card, serves the same purpose as anzu, but as an on-the-spot-enabler that can still attack, while costing no stock. Amazing card for when you are looking to kill things (which is basically every turn after you hit level 1)

Ill be honest here: I only play Rin, First Step because she’s one of my favorite characters and I have her SP. Of course, her ability to scry 1 on play and handfix is still solid, though there are other cards in the series you may like more. This is a preference tech for me.


Proceeding to level 1, power and stock generation become a focus. Normally, I prioritize damage over power and not the other way around. However, this lineup is made with a clear intention: to generate stock and force trades. There are enough relatively high power cards combined with a few utility cards from level 0 and the level 1 event from the trial deck to ensure that not only am I gaining stock and future compression after my refresh, I am doing so while forcing my opponent to spend stock to maintain their advantage and stay relevant while killing their characters.

No matter how many characters/Glass Cannons of mine that my opponent manages to kill off, there is another to take its place immediately and continue being the aggressor. My advantage engine from 1/0 Nitta combined with 0/0 brainstormer and the utility from the 0/0 producer and the 1/1 fail event make this possible. The 1/0 Nitta is especially important here because not only do you gain advantage but you are also milling your deck- which pushes you to your next refresh while providing a climax and hopefully a damage lead as well.

Keep them 1/0s comin p_p

The 1/1 anatasia is a stable clock encore to keep a sustainable board. The 1/0 Bomb serves a dual purpose: to answer problems, but also to induce massive pressure, as the utility cards and the 1/0 nitta that give power can easily push her to levels where she can kill things and stay on the board for continued pressure. Finally, we have this 1/0 Nitta that gains power on play. She is an immediate answer to large characters without any effort and sits at a relatively “okay” base power of 5k afterwards.

Plus…..

Equals ???

All of this is done while spending minimal stock, so you should be looking to have a relatively large amount of stock while building good compression with a sustainable hand and a maintaining clean stock before and after each refresh.

Here is a list of all the level 1 cards and their effects in the order you see below

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-079

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-087

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-092

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-054

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-T36

something to note here is that I don’t play counters here. This is because my characters have insanely low base power. Card techs that mitigate weaknesses should only be played when their effectiveness is enough to actually mitigate the weakness. In a meta where 6.5k – 8k power at level 1 is common place, the only character where my 1/0 counter 2k would be effective is the character with clock encore which already retains its value simply by having too much swag and not dying. Hence, it is better in this case to forgo the 1/0 counter and replace the card slot with something that works better with the deck’s strengths.

moving on to level 2: this is a part of the game where games can be won or lost based on how well you understand both player’s endgame and the player who was able to maximize their DPT (Damage per turn, see my other article) the most. Around this time is when the refreshes start coming in and we begin to see who is actually better at compressing their deck and maintaining a damage / climax lead, while setting up for the endgame finish. Early drops, large counters, and big assist characters are commonplace here, and in this deck it is isn’t much different.

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-058

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-107

the anti-change is pretty self explanatory, it prevents change but also allows you to sacrifice a character meaning you get to dodge any dangerous on-reverse effects at level 3. Level 3 is where each peck of damage can be terrifying, and any effect that can straight deny that is spectacular.

The 2/1 event is a bit tricky. The first effect is to draw 2, pitch 1 and the 2nd effect is to give a character 3000 power. Some people prefer the level assist over this, but I choose this card because:

  1. 3/2 ranko does not need to kill anything to do damage
  2. 3/2 anatasia does, but a 1.5k power boost generally isn’t enough when you consider the existence of large counters in the endgame
  3. the draw 2 pitch 1 effect gives you the added utility. this deck’s endgame is fairly combo based with 3/2 ranko, as well as the 3/1 doge to mitigate damage and any effect that allows you to draw into any of endgame pieces is alot better than a 1.5k assist late game.

Compared to the 2/1 level assist which only provides a 1.5k boost at max and a scry 1 effect on play, the event looks like the superior choice to me.

moving on to level 3, this is pretty straight forward. There isn’t a whole lot of tactics here. Things like building compression and stock don’t matter here because this is the point of the game where all of that is spent and you cash in on all of your investments that you made through the game. The goal is simple: do as much consistent damage that you can while mitigating your opponent’s damage through heals.

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-080

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-081

http://www.heartofthecards.com/code/cardlist.html?card=WS_IMC/W41-T55

Something I want to note is that not only does the level 3 lineup attempt to do damage and mitigate damage, it also does so in a manner that can play around one of the most powerful event counters in the current meta:

Ranko attempts to do her effect damage before the counter step, and Anatasia’s ability pulls a 1/0 Nitta from the WR to attack instead of actually restanding so even if your characters are in danger of having their damage denied, your damage output is only reduced not crippled.

The Doge is…well a doge. Much heal very wow. The purpose behind the doge is to simply stay alive and prevent your opponent from ending the game. This is part of the secondary win condition that I talked about before, I want to prevent my opponent from straight up winning in the event that I am unable to end the game.

If anyone is wondering what the climaxes were, here you go:

anyways im done writing for now. I’ll do some more writing sometime next week but for now I’m off to go enjoy my new deck. Maybe ill go make another deck profile featuring asterisk, cause I like miku p_p

2 thoughts on “Deck Building is Pretty Fun (an Imas CG Deck Profile)

Leave a Reply

