Everyone is Bad at the game. I’m bad too, lets be terrible at this game together (A lesson about DPT) Part 1

topkek p_p

anyways, there seems to be a misconception that card advantage is the way to win in weiss schwarz. Unfortunately, while card advantage is a big factor in winning games in MTG, yugioh, and other similar games it is not as prevalent as actually inflicting damage in weiss. In weiss, damage is really important sometimes even more important than card advantage.

So to start us off: lets take a look at what actually wins games consistently here:

All of these cards have one thing in common: they do damage. in some instances, lots of it.

you win the game by getting your opponent to level 4 before you die. How you do it doesn’t matter, as long as it gets done. You could literally swing with level 0s till your opponent is braindead, or you can side attack with clockshooters. Who knows. Just get your opponent to level 4.

Obviously, the cards that I am showing you are pretty obvious to you if you are here reading this article. Let’s talk about the actual reason im even writing this shitpost: Improving your overall DPT (Damage Per Turn).

Repeat after me: Consistent damage is the key to winning more games. 
Understanding the mechanics of how damage works in this game is critical in understanding how to win more consistently. There are a number of factors in how much damage is taken in a turn, and they include:

  • How shitty both player’s waifus are
  • Whether or not you or your opponent smells bad (chances are you both smell bad)
  • How many climaxes your opponent stacked while u were distracted by some irrelevant announcement by the tournament organizer
  • Base soul damage because every waifu has a soul (Except Kirino)
  • Whether or not you played a climax cause god knows you drew them all
  • Do you even have characters to attack?
  • If they put up enough waifus to defend ur weaboo onslaught
  • Whether or not you trigger something (chances are you wont cause u have shit luck)

ok jokes aside, there are a ton of factors that come into play when estimating your overall damage per turn. Obviously the more damage you can inflict, the better. The only time damage should not be inflicted enmasse is when you don’t want your opponent to level up in specific matchups, or if you are both level 0 and need to take a couple turns to clock and fix hands for level 1 and up.

one of the most important things to consider when estimating damage is the climax to non-climax ratio.
note that I said ratio, not how many climaxes in general. The worse the ratio, the more you can pressure your opponent with. You can have 8 climaxes but if you have no compression you are going to take hits, whereas if you have 4 climaxes but only 13 cards in deck you are pretty likely to double or triplecancel like the cheater you are (one time I canceled a triple musashi rush perfectly, 6 cancels the dream)

Whether or not your opponent is going to take damage this turn is actually almost always in control of either player (either the defending player or the player on the offensive). Mill counters, compass, burn effects such as musashi, clockshooters and topkekers, anti-change counters, borden counters, and other related bullshit (most involving counters). Furthermore, base soul output as well as side attack vs front vs direct (one time I side attacked with a clock shooter to ensure I had exact game instead of overshooting it). Understanding all of these dynamics is important in ensuring damage is dealt (presumably in your favor)

The most important thing about how damage works is that its not just who can do the most damage, its who can do the most damage over time. Consistent damage output will more often than not be favored over large burst damage output, which is why games are generally won by the player who is able to do large amounts of consistent damage rather than try to stick massive amounts of damage in one go

so how do we improve our overall damage output? Well first of all, READ THE SITUATION:

Remember, if damage is canceled and you dont have any effects that do additional damage, you dealt 0 damage from that attack regardless of how much you swung for. That blows.

If your opponent has a good climax to non climax ratio, their chances of canceling are going to be larger. this is a no brainer.

fucking up your opponent’s Current ratio is hard to do (only possible in certain sets) but messing with your opponent’s FUTURE ratio (after refresh) is doable by all decks.

you do this by:

1. making your opponent level up before a refresh, ruining their compression by sending all the non-climax cards in their clock to waiting room

2. forcing your opponent to spend stock before a refresh

3. killing characters, sending them to waiting room.

I personally value forcing the level up over the other two as it is much easier to do and is usually very effective.

This does not mean that you have to choose all the time. By all means, if you can accomplish multiple methods at once, the correct answer is to

Meaning that if you are planning to win, you should not be planning at level 2 or 3 but as early as level 0/1.

So lets looks at some basic math because everyone loves math (actually I don’t, fuck math.)

every time your opponent ends his turn, we should always be calculating our opportunities and understand the full extent of where we can be aggressive and whether or not you have the tools to accomplish a damage rush of any sort:

basic maths:

40 (cards left in deck) / 8 (climaxes left) = 5 damage you are likely to stick before the next cancel

32/8 = 4

24/8 = 3

16/8= 2

obviously this is really basic and does not account for the random RNG dynamics of weiss, but is a good starting guideline for estimating how much damage you can potentially do this turn.

the easiest way to calculate on demand is

1. check how many climaxes your opponent is most likely to have (lets say, only 2 were revealed so your opponent may have 6 left)

2. count how many cards are left in the opponent’s deck (this is public knowledge and is not frowned upon so just do it). In this example, lets assume my imaginary opponent has 34 cards left.

3. Divide the # of cards by # of possible climaxes. To make it easier, you can also multiply # climaxes x 1 through 8 and the number you multiply to get to the number closest to # of cards in deck is ur likely damage output:

34 / 6 = 5.66 damage you are likely to inflict between cancels

6(climaxes) * 5 (damage you can do between cancels) = 30 (closest to # of cards in deck)

this number will in fact change as players take damage or not take damage. The faster you can do mental math the easier this becomes to do on the spot. Practice it! p_p

now, just as much as your opponent’s damage matters, so does yours. You want to be minimizing the damage you take and maximizing the damage you output, as reducing your opponents DPT is also a critical part of winning more games. To do so, you simply calculate and improve your deck ratio as you play, thinking ahead as you do:

  1. ensuring ur stock remains clean as you continue play
  2. avoiding spending too much stock before a refresh
  3. not letting characters die too much
  4. direct attacks against you are always a risk for you unless you are severely compressed

the most important thing here is to maintain a ratio that is always better than your opponent’s either through mill effects, refresh, or in some cases just plain luck.

the most efficient way to ensure that you have a better ratio is to ensure you are always refreshing with the best ratio possible. Keep in mind that it is not the # of climaxes that matter, but the ratio:

if im refreshing 8 climaxes into a 34 card deck, 34/8 = about 4 damage im taking between cancels on average

if im refreshing 7 climaxes into a 25 card deck, 25/7 = about 3 damage

remember when you are calculating this, remember that the one damage difference MATTERS because it is on average in between cancels. Meaning that 1 damage avoided is actually at least 4-5 damage avoided overall. This goes on the opposite side when trying to inflict damage: your overall Damage Per Turn is increased signifigantly, even if the mumber of damage you can deliver per cancel is only increased by one.

Last thing to note is that having a damage lead puts you in a position to be more aggressive as well as having a climax lead. Maintaining both a climax lead and a damage lead through multiple turns will guarantee you a won game more often than not. In a card game like weiss, leads and numbers are RELATIVE. You do not need the most optimal numbers (though you should be seeking that), but at the very minimum you should be seeking to have better ratios than your opponent as your games progress.

Im getting pretty tired so im going to end with an anecdote from one of my tournament games:

me, playing kantai collection vs a nisekek player:

I am at level 1, 0 damage while my opponent is level 1, 1 damage. Both of us have 3 climaxes in the waiting room, but I have 2 in hand. Nisekoi player has one open slot on the front row, while I have 3 characters on stage. I play my turn with the following thought process:

I want to refresh before I level up and do so with the highest ratio possible. (I am at a disadvantage here as I am 5 out counting the two in my hand)

I want my opponent to take damage.

I want my opponent to level up before his refresh. (least likely to happen this turn unless I get lucky)
In that order. Accomplishing all three within the next two turns would put me massively ahead and put me in a position to win the game.

I play the akatsuki, and the barrels ditching my extra climax and manipulate the number of cards in my deck through mill effects + a search effect though 1/0 akashi so that I would only have 4 cards left in the deck, then play the stock soul climax which takes a card from my WR and shoves it into the stock:

I direct attack with the akatsuki, assuming it will cancel. I inflict 3 damage, it sticks.

I front attack with a veriny against a 1/0 marika, thinking It may cancel. 2 damage sticks.

Iv’e done 5 damage at this time, and I think to myself “he’s going to cancel, how do I stop that”. I had to choose between killing a character and or side attacking for 1 damage. I side attack, the 1 damage lands and he levels up.

turn ends, climax goes to waiting room. Because I milled my deck to have EXACTLY 4 cards before my attack phase, the last climax I played would go to the waiting room after my 3 triggers and improve my post-refresh ratio:

I have 1 card left in the main deck and will be refreshing with 8.

My 3 triggers were non-climax cards as well as the card i put in my stock via the climax effect. The 4 clean stock would result in a better ratio post refresh.

I am going to take 1 damage + refresh damage guaranteed but it is irrelevant because I have a large Current damage lead as well as a large  Future  climax lead.

My opponent is still out 3 climaxes (to my knowledge), he might have drawn one when he clocks since he didnt cancel and they are still in the deck, which screws up his ratio when he’s already behind

he has a level advantage and is able to kill my characters (which he does), but does minimal damage due to my better refresh ratio and the damage lead becomes larger and larger as each turn passes

I push him to level 3, 2 damage when im at level 2, 1 damage. I win the game next turn with a solid damage lead and only 2 cards in hand to his 6 cards in hand.

I did not have to kill my opponent’s characters to do that. I only killed 4 of my opponent’s characters that entire game. I didn’t have to have a larger handsize than my opponent either. My opponent had more cards in hand than me all game. I never played compass, or got to level 3. By simply understanding how the game works and how damage manipulation works, I was able to get a clean victory.

Ill post some more in the future, im tired. remember, love live is shit. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Everyone is Bad at the game. I’m bad too, lets be terrible at this game together (A lesson about DPT) Part 1

Leave a Reply

