An author’s note (Not Weiss Related): An apology

I’ll admit, I’m really new to blogging despite having always wanted to write a blog. Most of the time I am writing it is because I have something passionate about that I want to share with others. I have something in my life that I thoroughly enjoy and love, and I want to talk about it with other people. I want to share my experiences, my thought processes, my opinions, and my hatred or love for something and while there are times where I fall short of meeting the expectations of certain people for the most part regardless of my mistakes I will do my best to at least get a point across.

However, as a new blogger (and an insecure one at that) I have my own problems that I have to face every time I share a blog post. There will always be people who look to criticize me because I am trying. I am writing an “informative” blog about a card game that is perceived as 90% “luck based” by a portion of its community. The frustrating part is when this portion of the community comes out of the woodwork to laugh and ridicule anyone that actually wants to think that Weiss Schwarz requires skill and that there are important bits of information in the game that matter such as card interactions, counterplay and proper deck building.

The saddest part of it all, was that before I started this blog I used to be part of this portion of the community. I used to laugh at people who tried at the game or wrote long winding posts about card choices and how something is “powerful”. There are some people who legitimately had good ideas but were just laughed at as a joke and then we all go back to assuming Weiss is a badly designed card game that doesn’t require skill. Looking at my most recent blog post and how 90% of the feedback I received was so terrible I couldn’t help but realize how I have been wrong about my previous actions.

Joe Takahata, a while back I made a photoshopped image as a joke about how you were the green savior of Weiss Schwarz. I honestly had no idea what was going on through my head at the time, and I realize now that its wrong to be trying to make “dank memes” about people who have a passion for the game and want to try and talk to people about it. For that, I sincerely apologize. I shouldn’t have done that, not just because I am a Weiss Schwarz player that wants to improve and share his information with other people but also has a human being and a grown man who should know better than that. You will probably never read this but if you do I hope you can forgive me.

The Weiss Schwarz Foreign Community is a community that isn’t afraid to chew you up and spit you back out. While the community has its fair share of good members who are decent people and understand that there is person behind these poorly written articles, there are also plenty of members who will not hesitate to make you feel like complete shit and make you want to quit writing altogether. The latter always seems to be the louder of the two and more often than not when I think about wanting to share my newly created blog post I immediately hesitate because I know someone is going to just write something terrible about my blog and it just snowballs out of control with people making me feel terrible for even trying. Sometimes I wonder if even my friends or acquaintances even like it. At times I wonder if writing anything at all is worth my time because people will literally go out of their way to make me feel terrible without helping me improve. Half the time I assume that if people have anything to say about my blog they will just say it to other people behind my back and talk shit about me. Outside of my long time friends, I make the assumption that my articles are going to be looked at by people who are scanning the article for mistakes to shit on me for. It’s not healthy.

However, despite all of this I still write, and I still share whether or not my blog is good or bad. Writing bad articles is part of the learning process. It is painful, it is time consuming and can sometimes even be emotionally and mentally draining. There are times where you just don’t want to proofread over 1000 words and just want to get it done with. There are times where you just blank out as you write and have to backtrack your brain to figure out what you were writing about in the first place. Just like in Weiss, you are going to lose a lot and get shit on fairly often and learning to get better comes with time, experience and effort. One of my favorite blogs is the top tier tears blog, because it is informative and interesting to read. When I compare my blog to that one, it seems inferior in every aspect. Does this mean that I’m trying to become that blog? By all means, no. I have my own ideas to write about. My own thoughts and my own intentions for this blog. Do I want to get to that level of quality someday? Of course, which is why I am trying so hard to improve not just myself as a player but slowly as a writer.

I don’t write this blog because I want people to like me or my posts. I want to share my opinions, my information, my knowledge. I don’t need a large fan base and honestly I no longer care if I get shit on if my article is poorly written. Someone, anyone will get something out of at least one article and that’s what makes me happy in the end. I’m happy that I helped someone understand this game a little bit more. I’m happy that I am able to share my thoughts with people and present a side of the game that might not be obvious to others. I am happy that I finally have a passion to write about something. I don’t need to be offended by some jerk on the internet telling me my blog is trash, or that I should be killing myself. I am happy that I have friends who can at least support me along the way and give me motivation to keep going with constructive criticism to help me improve.

Anyways, we are at a start of a long journey. If you are here to stay, thank you. If you are here to mock me then at least you took the time to read my article and ill thank you for that. Regardless of whether or not anyone is here at all, I will write anyways. I do it because I love it. Because I have a passion for it.

Thank you, and have a good night.

Leave a Reply

